Skip to content

Twitter Expert Connect Reflection Post

Jennifer George

Mr. Leinbach

Technology

 

          For the past few months, my class has been working on gathering information for a new genius hour project topic. Through this, our main goal was to connect with ten or more different people / organisations on twitter that understood the field we were researching and / or were able to answer any questions we had.

 

          When I searched for experts on twitter, I made sure to, one, see if they were moderately active on their twitter page, and two, made sure to see if their twitter page was full of information on the topic I was searching. To broaden my chances of getting a response from at least half of the experts I ended up following, I also followed students / teachers, that were studying the topic, or that were teaching the topic at a high level. Here are the accounts I followed, with a description of how they feel about the topic / what their account is for:

 

  1. @AbortionSupport : Is a charity providing practical information, funding & accommodation to women in N/Ireland forced to travel for safe, legal abortion.

 

 

  • @freesafelegal: Campaign for free, safe, and legal abortion in Ireland. We work toward legislation on X & C cases and the repeal of the 8th Amendment to the Irish Constitution.

 

 

 

  • @MetroNYCRightLife: Organisation – (With MRLC) Educate & informs public about the realities of abortion, facts of pre-born infant’s development, maternal risks of abortion & alternatives

 

 

 

  • @AbortionDebate: This account will attempt to bring civility to the abortion debate, particularly among the loud voices who use hypocritical and misleading arguments.

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • @TheUnChoice: Most abortions are unwanted or coerced. Many forced. Risk to both. Aftermath: grief, trauma, injury, or death. A rights abuse & risk to BOTH the unborn & women.

 

 

 

  • @GWAFund: GWAF is a non-profit organization and subsidiary of @abortionfunds raising money to help ensure access to safe, affordable abortions for Missourians.

 

 

 

  • @notaloneus: Our mission is simple: to let women who have had abortions know that they are not alone. We share stories of women’s experiences with abortion. Share yours.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

          All of these people / accounts  relate to my genius hour project because in short, my project consists of me informing students on what abortions are, why it’s done, the risks of abortions etc. meanwhile the accounts tweet out many links to different websites that allow women to share their abortion stories, and they also share current events that have to do with abortions.

 

          The main goal of this twitter expert connect was to request information from these accounts. There were two main ways I could approach this. One, I could just bluntly ask my question, or two, I could lurk their page and like a few of their tweets, to get noticed, and for them to see that I was interested in what they posted. I obviously went for option number two, and luckily got responses from over half of the people I followed. To help me with my project, I stuck around asking them for any links they thought might help me, and for their opinion on the general topic of abortions.

 

          How did I ask my questions? In my tweets, I first introduced myself, and the purpose of the tweet. Then, I proceeded to inquire for any links they had that would help me, and make my research easier. Some of my tweets looked like this: @AbortionsRWrong Hello, I’m Jen, and for class, I’ll be informing students about abortion. Do you suggest any sources that would benefit me? + @AbortionDebate Hello, my name is Jen, and in class, I’m researching ‘abortions.’ I was hoping you would give me your opinion on this topic?

 

          I was very lucky to get replies. Although it took a lot of patience, the accounts started responding to my questions after about a week. To keep the conversation going I liked their tweet, thanked them for taking time out of their day to respond to me, and responded telling them I was definitely going to continue asking questions.

 

          All in all, I think this experience was a very fun yet stressful one. I say this because, I’ve never had to use social media to complete a project before, and with this came learning to interact with people that share the same interest as you, but also learning to be patient, to actually get a response. In the future, if I have a project topic that I know is very popular, I’ll definitely use other resources to broaden my knowledge, instead of doing plain research.

Published inUncategorized

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar